President's Message

2023 PCMS President, Nicholas Brucker, MD

Sign Up For Text Alerts

Keep up to date with our text alerts.

Dear Members of PCMS,

     It is with distinct pleasure to have the opportunity to serve as President of the Pulaski County Medical Society (PCMS) for the 2023 year. It is an honor to serve the largest and oldest county medical society in the state of Arkansas.  I would like to thank the Board of Directors for their dedication and hard work over the past year. I would also like to thank Dr. Krishnappa Prasad for his leadership as President of PCMS during 2022. I look forward to continuing and growing our support for the health and wellness of our community.

     I have had the privilege of serving on the Board of Directors of PCMS for the past two years. I am proud of what we have accomplished and how we have navigated through the difficult waters that the pandemic has presented. From virtual meetings to countless emails, we have been able to continue supporting our community despite the barriers that COVID has given us. I am optimistic that we have better days on the horizon and excited about what the future brings for the health of the people of Pulaski County.

     Despite the pandemic, we were able to accomplish quite a lot in 2022. This past year we were able to fully fund two of the medical student projects that were submitted. These include funding the Lifestyle Medicine Committee at the 12th Street Health and Wellness Center as well as the 12th Street Pop-Up Clinic. We also sponsored a clinic at Harmony Health Services in the spring of this past year. These projects have continued to bring access to healthcare to the underserved patients of our community. With your support, I hope to continue, and possibly even expand, some of these programs. We have also continued to grow and support our relationship with the medical students at UAMS. From scholarships and financial awards for outstanding students to sponsorship of the School of Medicine House Olympics, we continue to build on our relationship with the future physicians of Pulaski County. We have expanded our social media outreach on Facebook in hopes to attract more support for PCMS going forward. We also hosted a Zoom meeting, in partnership with Aptus Financial, to educate physicians who may qualify for student loan forgiveness.  As the pandemic slowly draws down, I am excited about what we can accomplish in 2023.

     I am pleased to report that this past year we were able to return to an in-person annual meeting. We had the pleasure of having Representative Dr. Stephen Magie as our guest speaker to inform us of changes to healthcare in 2023.  I thank all those who attended (guests and sponsors) and look forward to seeing new faces at this year’s annual meeting.

    As an emergency medicine physician, I know, we as healthcare providers, have endured the extreme challenges that the COVID pandemic has presented us. I would like to personally thank all those that persevered though these challenges and continued to provide excellent care for the patients of Pulaski County.  As we eventually emerge from the pandemic, I hope to see a brighter future for the health and wellness of our community. With your continued support, I am sure we can accomplish so much more. Thank you, and I look forward to serving as your President in 2023.

Nicholas Brucker M.D.


Need assistance? Call us at 501-663-1450